Favorite Movies

Usually, when I fill out one of those profile pages or personality quizzes, I’ll run into the question, “What’s your favorite movie?”  You know the kind.  Well, I don’t know how the rest of you are, but, for me, which movie is my favorite depends entirely on my mood. To illustrate this point, I leave you with the following chart.

As you see, all these movies have a female protagonist.  From time to time I feel like I need to remind myself that I’m a beautiful person and that, even though I make mistakes, it doesn’t mean I’m a bad person or that I’m powerless.  That’s why I like these movies.  They remind me of that fact very nicely.

Do any of you have a movie, or more than one, that you like to watch when you’re feeling bad about yourself?

5 thoughts on “Favorite Movies

  1. What an awesome point. I think most people feel free to relate this way in the music they listen to, but don't often say this as far as movies. My emotions are almost always a swirling mix, and so I don't think I can do a neat and tidy list. I'll have to go more by type of movie.Lost, frustrated– Epic fantasy, especially when it seems like it's "me vs. the world" or I am feeling insecure about my place in this world. If I'm depressed, then it might be the Star Wars prequels; if I'm more hopeful, then it would be the original trilogy.Cynical, "I am a freak"– psychological horror or any good Tim Burton film, preferably something that also has a comedic element.Combination of the above– X-Men 3: The Last StandI dunno… this *is* so much easier with music

    • Well, for some people it’s clothing, for others it’s music, for still others it’s food. I just like exploring my moods with movies. Thanks for the great comment, Ally. I appreciate it a lot.

Leave a Reply

