Rory’s Story Cubes in Action

Reposted from Vox Journal Jar in Exile

For those who enjoy reading this blog, jak has asked me to post a sample story using the story cubes.  We had the beginnings of one story, but, for some reason, I lost it.  So, today, I began another.

Warning: This entry will be long, so brace yourselves, okay?

Here’s one way jak suggested the story cubes could be used for story generation or as creative inspiration.  It’s pretty simple.

Step 1. Roll the cubes.   This is the roll out I got.  The black images are from the red container of regular images.  The blue images are from the blue container of actions.  I can use the images in any order I like to create a story.

Story Cube Roll-out

In case you can’t make out some of the images, the ordinary images I got were a flag, a question mark, a book, a sheep, a house, a letter, an alien, a parachute, and a hand or handprint.  The action images I got were walking through a door, shouting, cutting something, drying in the sun, eating, laughing, burning something, bouncing a ball, and giving/getting a present.

Step 2.  Choose a cube and write about it. Repeat this step until all the cubes are used.  You can do this in any old way you like.  Since no two people think alike, no two stories will be the same.  You can write the story yourself or, for fun, you can do it with some friends or family members.  My take on the dice is below.

Once upon a time, there was a sheep named Filbert.  Filbert was strange for a sheep.  Although he enjoyed eating grass like any other sheep would, sometimes he did things that made the rest of the flock wonder about him.  For example, one time, Filbert sat down inside a hollow log and told everyone the log was his house.  All day long, he pretended he was a shepherd, opening his mail, reading books and putting his clothing out to dry in the sun.  Another time, Filbert climbed up on top of a hill and told everyone he was an alien.  He spent all of that day, jumping off the hill at the other sheep while pretending he was wearing a parachute and planting a flag claiming the field in the name of his alien world.  None of the rest of the flock knew what to do with him.  He wouldn’t just eat grass and grow wool like a normal sheep.  So they just ignored him and went on being just sheep.

One night, when the shepherd had gone into his house to sleep, a wolf turned up at the edge of the flock.  All the other sheep were terrified, but the shepherd’s fence kept them from running away.  They bleated for help, crying as loudly as they could, but the shepherd was tired and didn’t hear them.  Filbert, however, wasn’t frightened.  He just laughed. 

“That’s not a wolf,” he told them.  “That’s a ball that my cousin gave me as a birthday present.”

Filbert went right up to the wolf and grabbed him.  Then he threw the wolf outside of the fence, where he bounced off of an old stump and ran yelping into the woods.  The sheep looked at him in wonder.

“How did you do that?” they asked.  “Why weren’t you afraid?”

“I decided when I was a lamb that I didn’t want to be afraid of wolves,” Filbert smiled.  “So, I pretended to cut up my sheep card and burn it.  I’ve been using my imagination to help me build courage ever since.”  The sheep were amazed at this.  They had thought that Filbert was just weird.  Well, you can imagine what happened.

When the shepherd got up the next morning, he found the entire flock pretending to play volleyball, coached by Filbert, of course.  Stranger things have happened.

Here are the cubes again, this time in the order I used them:

a sheep, eating something, a house, a letter, a book, drying in the sun, an alien, a parachute, a flag, a question mark, walking through a door, shouting, laughing, giving/getting a present, a hand or handprint, bouncing a ball, cutting something and burning something.

Now, here’s my challenge.  Look at the above picture and write a story of your own using the images shown on top of the dice.  You don’t have to use my interpretation of them, in fact, as an added challenge, try not to.  Be creative and, above all, have fun.  If you decide to post your results to your own blog, be sure to include a link back here, so I can come and read it.  I can’t wait.

I’ll probably post other Story Cube stories here, created either alone or with the help of my family, some other time.  Look for the acronym, RSCA for Rory’s Story Cubes in Action.  I don’t usually write such short stories, though, so be prepared.

2 thoughts on “Rory’s Story Cubes in Action

  1. We had the beginnings of one story, but, for some reason, I lost it.

    As I told you– no, we didn’t. It got put into the description of the photo we took of what you had written. Yet I like this story much better, and made sure to send a copy to your parents. I am not sure if either has read it.

Leave a Reply

