Cimmy’s Poetry: Prayer Haikus

 

Daedin:

Giant Father sky

Husband of the green mother

Grant me justice here

 

Gracia:

Loving earth mother

Wife to the lightning father

Pour out your mercy

 

Derev:

Silent survivor

He who loves the careful life

Help me see sunrise

 

Jaylen:

Speaker of the heart

Lover of the true romance

Let my love be shown

 

Krysil:

Lady of the sea

Mother of the messenger

Watch over my ship

 

Mellifri:

Golden child of gods

Hair of flax, soul of hard steel

Don’t look at her eyes

 

Phantos:

Some see you and fear

You are my shadow lover

Watch me as I dream

 

Riknor:

The rich man’s close friend

Savior of the dwarven slave

Show me my value

 

Celian:

Teacher of healers

Friend of mothers and farmers

Give me a daughter

 

Cytropus:

Great one-eyed watcher

Good friend of gods and of men

Let me see the truth


These are written by request from jaklumen, who is currently writing an epic fantasy and asked me to put up some haiku on the gods we created for that world.  I thought it would be nice if they came out like prayers of the faithful.  He tells me this is for a Poetry Challenge. Check that out, too.

5 thoughts on “Cimmy’s Poetry: Prayer Haikus

  1. Reblogged this on the tao of jaklumen and commented:
    Cimmorene has done me a lovely favor and crafted me some more haikus for Rob’s December challenge. Again, the subjects are from our epic fantasy, and feature the pantheon in our setting.

    Since I know some of you dear readers are poetry fans, please pay her a visit.

  2. These are really inspiring, as they do sound like prayers of the faithful – as though they were the poems memorized by every child on a world where people still revere the elements of nature; so should we all; you and Jaklumen are teasing this world into our imaginations.

    Thank you for your submission!

    🙂

  3. Pingback: Genre Haiku Roundup 2013.12: Epic Fantasy | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Monday Monster Mashup will never, EVER die! | jak & Cimmy's Journal Jar

Leave a Reply

