Exercise #64: I Wish For Freedom

Exercise 64 Instructions

I wish to free my body of the fat and flab surrounding its frame, replacing it with lean muscle instead, so that I will be able to look at myself in a full-length mirror and see myself the same with my eyes as I do with my mind. I wish to free the creative powers of my mind and heart to the extent that I am capable of writing a story that touches other people’s minds and hearts so much that they are willing to spend money to own a copy of it. I wish to free my mind from the ever present fog that permeates it, allowing it to create perfectly clear thought and razor sharp memory without the clumsiness of outside help. I wish to free my emotions, so that meeting people I have seen acting creatively on television or the computer, or whose creative works I’ve read, would not cause me to lose vital control of my behavior. Finally, I wish to be free of sin, so that, when the time comes and I must meet my maker, I may look him in the face without fear and hear him declare my efforts to be “well done.”


I hope this reads something like a poem, since that’s how it felt when I wrote it.   I’d be interested to see how you’d handle this assignment. 

8 thoughts on “Exercise #64: I Wish For Freedom

  1. Cimmy, I cannot write poetry and I appreciate anyone who can. This sounds like heart song to me, one of the highest compliments I can give. For me, heart song is the absolute core essence of a person and you shared this with us. Thank you. You and I have exactly the same end goal with: …when the time comes and I must meet my maker, I may look him in the face without fear and hear him declare my efforts to be “well done.” Yes.

    • What an awesome compliment! I’m so touched :’) If I was more girly, I’d be fanning my face. Seriously, huntmode, thank you for saying such a lovely thing.

      • Laughter, Cimmy, you and I are the only ones I know who have said that about fanning ourselves. I love fans, myself. Have you thought about using your poem as a way to create affirmations for yourself? That is what most struck me. Keep the poem as its beautiful self; make a copy and separate out the wishes into concrete, positive statements as though it has already happened. As in:

        “I wish to free my mind from the ever present fog that permeates it, allowing it to create perfectly clear thought and razor sharp memory without the clumsiness of outside help.”

        “My mind is now free of fog, creating perfect clarity of thought. I have a razor sharp memory.”

        Just a thought. Grin. Well done again. Best ~ HuntMode

Leave a Reply

